The quest continues

Jay K

4 years in and still a very "new hunter." This is my first year hunting out of a BBSB. I started with a 14' Jon boat and it just didn't cut it for those puddle ducks. Had birds flaring left and right.

Figured I had the cure all with the BBSB. Nope. They are still flaring. Went out last Saturday. Had every puddle duck flare at the last second. Had a pair of black ducks make a hard U-turn when they saw my spread all cupped to come in. At the last second they bailed and pitched hard away.

A fellow member on here (Craig F) pointed out that I need a cockpit cover. So next time let's see if that is the ticket I need to start getting some birds to commit.

None the less, it was a beautiful day on the water.

m7FU2oB.jpg

QinCdyD.jpg

Jay~

Sweet rig! I'm sure you'll do well with it.

I am presuming you have learned THE MOST IMPORTANT RULE OF DUCKSHOOTING: DON'T MOVE!!!!

I agree that the cockpit needs to be hidden. I use a "lap cover" that's all thatched up. Do you wear a face mask? (This photo was "pre-facemask - back in the last century....) I also always wear fingerless gloves - to hide my hands.

View attachment Sneakbox - SJS on Thatch ca 1990 - shortened.jpg

Two other thoughts:

1. If your days have been as bluebirdy as the photos show, it's generally tough to get birds to tend perfectly when they can afford to be careful. Stiff winds and dropping mercury mean for hungry - and so less careful - birds.

2. When gunning by myself, I typically have the rig a bit to my left. Not only does this make for easy shooting (for righthanders) - but it gives the birds an "all clear" view right ahead of the decoys.

All the best,

SJS

I agree with all that Steve wrote, except, that is a B. E. A. UTIFUL rig!