Chesapeake hunting

Is anyone else huntingthe Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries? I'm just getting into it and need advice as the late season is on its way!

Bryant-You are going to have to narrow it down a little. Since you said Chesapeake Bay, I assume you mean Virginia (Cheaspeake bay starts at VA border, where the susquehanna river ends). What type of advice are you looking for?

You know, I thought of that, but us Marylanders are so posessive of the bay that we forget that you guys have most of it. I'm in northern Maryland near the Susquehanna, but may hunt as far south as Hart-Miller Island (just below Baltimore).

I have a 16' flat-bottom boat with a blind on it, but need to upgrade. I want to hunt the bay (where it gets a bit rough), but also the back waters, which are shallow (1-2 feet). Plus I want to hunt 3 guys at a time and don't know what I shuld be looking at in the way of boats. Maybe I just want too much!

Hello,

I have hunted the Eastern shore for 10 years. A great place to go is Deal Island. There is an impoundment that limits the number of hunters but you can hunt the tidal side all you want. Good Luck. Its on the DNR webside if you have any questions for them. I am now in SD and loving it.

B,

I'm a VA resident (northern VA), but I hunt in MD too. I"ve hunted the Patuxant, lower Potomac and some on eastern Shore backwaters. started out with a 15' modified-V aluminum jon; traded it for a 14ft TDB classic. Although I don't hunt the open waters of the bay, i would feel comfortable doing so in the TDB under most conditions, but not in a flat bottom jon. one wave over your bow could swamp you. The flat bottom sounds fine for the rivers and backwaters, i wouldn't recommend it for the bay. I'm relatively new to this game, so you might want to contact some local guides to learn more about the different types of hunting available (puddle ducks from boat or blind, sea ducks from layout boats, body-boot'n, etc).

jendrusjr,