CZ Guns

Worth Mathewson

In reading the post about Browning vs CZ guns gave me trouble. The fact that some people have had bad luck with the CZ. As some know I gave a CZ to the first place winner in the 2014 Delta Youth Decoy Contest. I am planning to do the same for the 2015 Contest. (The species will be greenwing teal, either drake or hen.) Is there anyone out there that has had good service from a CZ? I certainly don't want to give a gun that will fail! Best, Worth Mathewson

Worth,

Although I have had no personal experience with CZ I have shot several different guns owned by friends. Many of the individuals at my gun club own or owned CZ firearms and I have never heard a bad word. The comments in the other thread were a surprise to me.

Worth,

I have been using a CZ Canvasback for a couple years. I have been very happy with it. It is my main waterfowl gun now. It does not get babied. It has spent some time marinating in the bottom of the sculling float. Rained on and snowed on. I've put a few cases of target loads through it during winter skeet leagues. I have not experienced any malfunctions.

2f31dbc4-1bbf-4544-a42e-5876589b8811.jpg

-Matt

When I finally won my SSA disability appeal and received eight years' payments at once, I decided to replace some of my guns I had to sell while out of work and disabled. I marched straight into my local gun store and ordered a CZ double with the English wrist. The duck names confuse me--maybe a bobwhite? It seemed too nice a gun to take duck hunting but I did anyway. Right into the blind without a test fire. What the heck, if there was a problem I could go get an old gun at home.