First Mallard Attempt -- Critique Away

Joe Spoo

I've been a little hesitant to post this but figure the only way I'm going to improve is from feedback, and since I don't have anyone local I'm looking for input from the virtual carving gang.

This is my first attempt at a mallard. I have some finishing work to do, waiting for my eyes to arrive and have yet to attach the tail board or head. Any criticisms, suggestions, etc are very welcome. I did this all with hand tools and because I don't yet have a vice setup had to rasp everything and didn't get to break out the drawknife. It is from a kit, I'm not even sure where I got it as I've moved it through three different states before finally setting up a carving spot. Let me know what you think:

sideview.jpg

topview.jpg

backview.jpg

frontview.jpg

Again, thanks for taking a look. And many thanks to the guys from the forum who have been more than helpful with my questions!

Joe

[font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica]
I've been a little hesitant to post this but,,,,

Joe,

No more hesitant than I am to critique. I consider myself a beginning carver and still
[/font][font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica]struggle[/font][font=Verdana,Arial,Helvetica] with the same issue which I will point out. More rounding,,,,more rounding. For example, the cheeks are too flat and should have more taper towards the front. Suggest you look at pictures of Mallard decoys from established carvers, check out E Allens for example, many others also.

Body is really pretty good, no very good, for first attempt. Could also use more rounding top to bottom as seen in head on view. Overhead view, showing profile looks good to me. Personally I'd put a little more taper into the tail and rump areas.

This is a very good first attempt and you will be well served to finish it as is or make some refinements, your choice.
[/font]