texturing/paint question for gadwall decoys

chester sadowski

I started painting some e allen decoys this fall in hopes that maybe at some point in the season i might be able to use them. The problem is i cant really get around the texture /painting on the chest and sides of my gadwall drakes. I have several different decoys, feathers, photos, ect. Im just overloaded with visuals and my only advise if from a friend who did these several years ago. I started by applying the texture gel and then figured i would apply the base coat (cant decide on that color) and then dry brush white over the highs. The result was something that really didnt stand out too good. I put in an e-mail to Lou to see if he had and pdf's on doing them. If any one has any info to share that would be great. Im just looking to do the best ob i possible can on them.

Chester

Chester, i am presently working on a gaddie--Have everything up thru the scapulars, and am getting ready to do the base combing for back, sides and chest-U yndercoat with a mix of carbon black and burnt umber, to create a brownish black--when paint is partially dry--ACRYLIC, Golden Matte---i texture the paint with the wider end of a regular plastic comb, then let the paint dry--You will have time to play with the texturing, as the paint does not dry instantly---Then, i dry brush the surface with a mix of titanium white and a bit of raw umber, to kill the harshness of the white--Seems tht the gaddie is blackish with white vermiculation--As for the chest, i do not do wht white dry brushing, but use a wide liner to create the squiggly light part of the chest , part of the back close to neck, and part of the lower side-. If you want, come over to dover-i will be glad to postpone this part of the process to give you a live demo, which makes more sense==give a call
302-270-8706, or e mail me at gwdecoys@verizon.net