The canvas goose (lots of pics)

Chuck J

Got these plans from Yukon Mike a while back.

woodandcanvasplan.jpg

Traced the original, glued them to luan.

canvasgoose002.jpg

Cut out

canvasgoose003.jpg

Mike thought his head looked a bit large, so I trimed it down to 80% of the original. Didn't have a copier handy, so I did it the old fashion way.

canvasgoose004.jpg

All the pieces cut out

canvasgoose005.jpg

Back and Breast glued in.

canvasgoose006.jpg

Notched back to accept the wire

canvasgoose008.jpg

Head and neck roughed out and epoxied together

canvasgoose007.jpg

Wires

canvasgoose009.jpg

canvasgoose012.jpg

Put on the canvas last night

canvasgoose013.jpg

I'm no expert, this is my first canvas bird. There seems to be a lack of info on the net as to how to do these, so I though I'd post what I had done and hopefully anyone with additional info will pipe up.

Thanks to Yukon Mike for the plans and the advise, and Dave Sikorski for lots of encouragement and advise as well.

Chuck

Wow, I love it. Did you get some stainless staples? Wonder if wetting the canvas first would help make it tight when it dried and shrunk? Can't wait to see it all painted up.

Dear Chuck,

Awesome work! I started a few 20 years ago. Never got them finished.

Like Lee, I am anxious to see the finished work. Any chance you'll do Swans?

God Bless,

Mark

Wonder if wetting the canvas first would help make it tight when it dried and shrunk?
If you wet the canvas on the decoy it will tighten up quite a bit. Don't know if you are planning on it or not but I'd recommend stitching up the pleats. I've seen them left but I think it looks better with them stitched up, easier to paint too. About the only tip I know about finishing them, when you think you have the canvas sealed up put on another coat. Really nice pictures. If you ever want to try some canvas dove decoys I have some pictures of how I make them. Tim