Making a fiberglass coffin ?'s

Ken Scheffler

So I decided that it's time to stop bumming off my buddy for his coffin blinds, and build my own. I have nothing to start with and will need to build a mold, then make the fiberglass replications of it (I want to stick with just fiberglass in the finished coffin to save weight)

I got to thinking about it and the dimensions are going to be 22" at the head end, 19-20" on the foot end with a 10" height and about 6' long. My friends coffin has about a 1" lip that flares out off the top (gives you something to grab onto to move it around.

So if I was going to use 1/4" plywood and 1"X4"x8' boards to make the mold would it suffice? Just make a box shape out of the boards, then cover it with plywood? I had planned on laying the fiberglass on the outside of the mold, but in this case how would I make the lip on the top rim?

I am completely new to building things with fiberglass (as if you couldn't tell) so anything that I am over looking please let me know.

How heavy of fiberglass mat or cloth (which would be better?) should I use? One or two layers for the needed strength?

Thanks, Ken

Ken A few threads back if you search they are talking about a Hybrid vary similar to a coffin blind. A lot of good tips there about construction. Fiber glass and plywood. It seems in your post you want more than one. You can make a mold and take replicates off from it but it might just be simpler to just build more than one. It will probably cheaper and take much less time. The fellow who designed the hybrid gives away the plans and many people have built them.

I'm not sure how much weight you'll save going with Fiberglass construction.
If your only going to build a few than plywood and tape may be your best bet.
Chopped glass and gelcoats have a fairly large learning curve, and some specialized tools.

Wouldnt you rather have wood anyway?:)