My new rig

RC D

I believe this is my first post so I will introduce myself. My name is RC, I'm 25 and live in Michigan (hunt Saginaw Bay). I started duck hunting when I was young and it kind of got away from me with year round sports and then into college. I graduated last year and went out with a coworker and was instantly addicted again. I purchased the boat in the fall and never got a chance to hunt it. I also just purchased the '58 Johnson 10.

Here's a couple pics of the rig. Dimensions are 14' x 5' and the cockpit is 7' x 3'. It's got some fast grass sides on pvc frames but I think I am going to make a dodger or a scissor blind. Anyone have any pics of a scissor blind on a BBSB style boat? Some of the gray paint is flaking off. It's acting like its latex paint. I plan on painting it a tan color and add some grass to the sides. Should I sand the gray and paint a latex or oil based?

My pup's name is Champ and he is currently 15 months. This will be his first season out.

View attachment ChampBoat.jpg

View attachment Boat.jpg

A dodger would be your best bet protects you from wind and rain when set up. You might want to file a flight plan that bbsb looks like it could fly.

RC,
Love your boat and that almost new motor. Make sure it starts real easy this summer, those old Johnys sometimes were a bit cranky if the points burned. A little TLC and she will hum. BTW what is your name so we can chat more friendly. You have now been bitten by a really serious bug, Welcome to the brotherhood of waterfowlers. Your pup looks ready to fly, my first lab wouldn't come down off the front deck for anything so I just let him ride there. Not maybe the smartest thing but no harm came from it.

Last edited: