Personal best/worst and a product endorsement

Pete McMiller

Spent Sat and Sun in the northern part of Wisconsin chasing grouse and woodcock with Mike Trudel. Saturday afternoon I started picking deer ticks off of me and counted somewhere between 25 and 30, almost twice my previous best. Fortunately none had attached yet. Saturday night I laid out out my boots, pants, shirt and hunting vest in the parking lot of the motel and sprayed them down good (both sides) with Permanone by Repel. Sunday I never saw a tick on myself, neither on my clothes nor my skin. The whole way home Mike was picking ticks off himself fairly regularly. I've never used this stuff before but won't be without it from now on.

I had also given Otto a dose of Frontline mid last week and I haven't spotted any on him either.

Yep, the smaller ones are about the size of a chunk of cracked pepper. The bigger ones about a third the size of a wood tick. Pick up some of that spray and you won't need to worry about them. One treatment will last a minimum of two weeks and through several washings (who washes hunting clothes during the season?).

Pete,

Permanone really works. I haven't used it for years but used it a lot in the late '80's down in Florida. During the early part of bow season the tiny critters were still very active. There is nothing like sitting on your tree stand as you feel a herd of critters climbing up your legs. There is something special about dropping you pants while 20 feet in the air and looking for crawling freckles.

One time a buddy and I were driving home after a bow hunt, he yells for me to pull over. He jumps out of the truck, drops his pants and starts pulling all the tiny ticks off his legs. It wasn't too far down the road that I thought I felt some crawling up my legs too.

I also would spray the permanone on my dog, everything except his head. That was in the days before frontline.

Tom